The elegant Manoir de la Roche Musset is located at 30 Rue de la Roche and stands in the midst of grounds marked by beautiful centuries-old trees. The hamlet of La Roche has kept its rural charm, its houses forming a picturesque ensemble beside the Loire, in the parish of Cinq Mars la Pile, between the towns of Langeais and Tours.
Placed on the Inventaire Supplémentaire des Monuments Historiques (the French supplementary register of listed historic monuments) since 18 March 1947, through its history, the property has variously been a fief, a troglodytic dwelling, a guards’ headquarters, a seigneury and a château, having ensured people’s protection and supported numerous activities, such as agriculture, wine-making and stone-quarrying... It has retained an air of grandeur that time has not erased. In 1032, the place was known as Rupes; in 1384, as Fief Lanneur; then in 1633 as La Roche Moreau. The Château de la Roche finally took on the name of Musset, after the family that owned it from 1535 to 1633.
Its elegance stems from its proportions and lavish architecture, its Renaissance roof windows and its turrets, with machicolations between the corbels. The Manoir de la Roche Musset benefits from an elevated location, sheltered by a limestone cliff. Its two gracious square towers, built in matching style, mark east and west corners. A stone wall surrounds the property. The picturesque outbuildings and surprising cabinet of curiosities in the Renaissance spirit are well worth a tour.